Ovi -
we cover every issue
worldwide creative inspiration  
Ovi Bookshop - Free Ebook
Tony Zuvela - Cartoons, Illustrations
Ovi Language
Murray Hunter: Essential Oils: Art, Agriculture, Science, Industry and Entrepreneurship
WordsPlease - Inspiring the young to learn
Murray Hunter: Opportunity, Strategy and Entrepreneurship
International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
BBC News :   - 
iBite :   - 
The Scorsese Snub - Ends!
by Asa Butcher
2007-02-27 10:12:10
Print - Comment - Send to a Friend - More from this Author
DeliciousRedditFacebookDigg! StumbleUpon
Martin Scorsese is a directorial genius. He has helmed at least one of everybody's top ten films and worked with most of the biggest names in Hollywood. Following his win at the Golden Globes for directing The Departed and ten other directing awards for the same film, he is expected to be among the nominations for Best Director announced on Tuesday January 23rd.

This would be the sixth time that Martin Scorsese is nominated in the Best Director category and, as hard as it is to believe, he has never won. His first appearance at the 1981 Oscars with Raging Bull was beaten by Robert Redford's own directorial debut with Ordinary People and his last nomination in 2005 for The Aviator was won by Clint Eastwood for Million Dollar Baby.

Should the unthinkable happen and Scorsese loses for a sixth time, he is in good company. Again, it is unbelievable, but Alfred Hitchcock was also nominated six times for Directing and never won. The Academy eventually covered their blushes by awarding the Master of Suspense the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award in 1968, but the damage had been done.

Psycho, Rear Window, Spellbound, Lifeboat, Suspicion and Rebecca were all nominations and are undeniably cinematic masterpieces, yet their director was never recognized for his work. Hitchcock's nominations were spread over a twenty-year period beginning in 1941 and ending in 1961. Scorsese's first nomination for Raging Bull was in 1981 and his career has now lasted over 25 years with no end in sight.

There is something strange about the Academy Awards that manages to continually overlook directors time after time. Scorsese, Hitchcock and even the late Robert Altman, who died in November. The Academy, with little time to spare, suddenly realized that Altman was 80-years-old and had been nominated five times throughout his career with no wins, so they had better present him with an Honorary Award before it was too late – eight months later he passed away.

There could be some sort of curse for directors first nominated for a Directing award in years ending in one because Altman's first nomination was in 1971 for MASH and David Lynch first of three nominations was in 1981. However, Federico Fellini never won any of his four director nominations or five of his Best Writing nominations, although he also received an Honoury Award seven months before he died of a heart attack.

On Tuesday, following the announcement, we can only pray that Martin Scorsese repeats his Golden Globe success by finally winning a long-deserved Oscar because he has certainly been patient enough. Should the Academy choose to present him an Honoury Award it may not be long until Scorsese becomes the departed.
Print - Comment - Send to a Friend - More from this Author

Get it off your chest
 (comments policy)

tangatti2007-01-21 17:11:50
It's hard to believe that Peter Jackson, Steven Soderbergh, Sam Mendes, Anthony Minghella and Ron Howard have won the award in the last ten years, but not Scorsese.

Eva2007-02-27 15:33:24
Finally yes. Such a worthy winner.

© Copyright CHAMELEON PROJECT Tmi 2005-2008  -  Sitemap  -  Add to favourites  -  Link to Ovi
Privacy Policy  -  Contact  -  RSS Feeds  -  Search  -  Submissions  -  Subscribe  -  About Ovi